top of page

A Birthday in the Heart of the Paris Olympics

Aug 10

2 min read

2

6

0

On July 29th, I celebrated my 23rd birthday in a way I never could have imagined in the heart of the Paris 2024 Olympics. The city of light, already brimming with charm and history, has taken on a new energy, pulsing with the spirit of competition, camaraderie, and global unity.


I brought in my birthday at midnight with Hayli and CJ, wearing a spa robe near the Fourvièr Hotel lobby. We ate delicious barbecue pizza, surprisingly from Pizza Hut, and sipped on a refreshing French drink.


The next day began with a sense of anticipation. There’s something magical about traveling to Paris, but today, with the Olympics in full swing, the magic felt amplified. The streets were alive with a mix of languages, nationalities, and the shared excitement of witnessing history in the making.

On the charter bus, I was given a chocolate croissant by a fellow Manship Olympics student, Lily (who also is from California like me). The croissant seemed flakier, perhaps, because I was savoring every moment, knowing that today was not just any day.


From my bus seat, I could see the Olympic rings proudly displayed across the city, a reminder that I was part of something much bigger than myself, a celebration of human potential and perseverance.

Dinner was a special affair, with 24 students turned friends, whom I met only because of the Olympics. We laughed, shared stories, and toasted to the future all while the city around us continued to celebrate the extraordinary.

This birthday will forever stand out in my memory, not just because of the grandeur of the Olympics, but because it reminded me of the beauty of shared experiences, the power of sport to unite us, and the simple joy of being present in a moment that will never come again.



Happy birthday to me, in the heart of Paris, at the center of the world. Here’s to many more unforgettable moments like this one.


Te’yanah Owens

Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page