top of page

Former LSU Diver Wins Silver

Aug 15

2 min read

4

57

0


Instagram/Juan Celaya-Hernandez

BATON ROUGE, L.A. One of the most decorated divers in LSU history is now an Olympic medalist. 


Juan Celaya-Hernandez, a 2022 graduate and professional diver, earned Mexico a silver medal in three-meter synchronized diving alongside his teammate, Osmar Olvera Ibarra.


In 2022, Celaya-Hernandez told Tiger TV that his goal was to compete in three Olympic Games. With his second Olympics now under his belt, Celaya-Hernandez is well on his way to achieving that goal. Celaya-Hernandez just missed the medal podium in 2021 in Tokyo, earning fourth place.


While attending LSU, Celaya-Hernandez earned seven Southeastern Conference titles and 12 All-America honors. Reflecting on how competing at LSU prepared him to be an Olympian, Celaya-Hernandez credited the Tigers’ longer seasons with helping him build consistency. “Competing at LSU helped me a lot in finding my rhythm at meets since we had at least nine competitions in the season. That was definitely a step up for me, since in Mexico I had max four events if everything went right. The exposure to the ‘meet-nerves’ helped me to control that side of me.”


Celaya-Hernandez cites the goals he set at a young age as the main motivator in his journey to becoming an Olympian. “Remembering why I started on [this] path, I wanted to make my family proud, giving all of my team (coaches, trainers, family) a little in return for all the support I was given. And to myself, making my dream a reality.” 


Celaya-Hernandez said he would not be where he is today without the support of his family. “Their support, since I started doing sports, [has] been unconditional. Through the ups and downs of my career … coming with a medal or not, they are the same people that sent me out to my first meet representing my state and now my country. They've always been there and I'm forever grateful to have them.”


“It's never an easy road but it's definitely one worth fighting for. When you have a goal in mind you are already halfway there, start moving towards that goal every day, make steps towards your goal regardless of how you feel, be disciplined and diligent with what you have to do to make that goal a reality, because nobody will make that goal happen for you, you have to make it happen and you will,” Celaya-Hernandez said. 


Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page