top of page

How I came to love a sport I once hated

Jul 28

3 min read

5

33

0


(Photo Credit: Ella Hall)


A year ago I would’ve said I hated soccer. 


I hated the simplicity of the sport. I hated the fake injuries. I hated the low-scoring games. 


I had the typical U.S. response to soccer: “American football is the real sport. Soccer is boring.” 


Today, I had tears in my eyes watching the U.S. men’s soccer team play France at the Olympics. 


I felt passion for the sport I’ve come to love. I felt adrenaline run through my blood as the players ran onto the field. My heart was beating with enthusiasm and zeal. 


You may ask, “What changed?”


Well, I joined the Reveille newspaper as a sports reporter in the fall of 2023. I had been denied a position twice and worked at the news section instead. 


When I was accepted to sports, I was just happy to finally be a part of the team and was eager to cover anything. 


For my first beat, I was of course assigned the sport I believed was dull: soccer.


Quickly, I decided to get rid of the negative beliefs I had for the sport, opening up my heart and mind to learn something new. 



Before LSU’s soccer season started, I studied rigorously. I watched old game film from LSU, learning different defensive formations and positions. I wrote down terms I needed to know and was ready to cover the sport I thought I “hated.” 


As I went to more games, something shifted. I couldn’t cheer in the press box, but I started to lean forward with hope when an LSU player drove up the field and shot at the goal. I had an urge to yell at the referees after multiple bad calls. 


I know an unbiased journalist shouldn’t say this, but I became a fan of the team. After each post-game interview with the head coach, I built an understanding for this sport that is so much more than kicking a ball. 


Throughout the fall season, I watched all Southeastern Conference teams play. I’d scout the best players that might give LSU trouble in future games. I immersed myself into this world of college soccer. 


I took it a step further and started to watch the Premier League, Champions League, Men’s League Soccer and the U.S. Women’s National Team. 


It had everything I loved about American football: passion, rivalries and underdog upsets. 


I was only touching the surface of a sport with so much tradition and culture; I needed to learn more. 


I followed my favorite players, learned the different rules of each league and tracked each team’s total points. 


Not having any connection to the sport, I randomly picked Arsenal as my favorite club and right away knew to hate Tottenham Hotspur. I loved waking up early to watch games.


Back on the LSU side, I finished covering the season and knew I’d be back next season. 


I’ve always aspired to work in sports. But a new dream of mine is to cover an international sport. What better one to work in than the biggest sport globally. 


After getting accepted to the Olympics Project, I was ecstatic that I’d see a soccer match live. 


When the day came, it was everything I dreamed. 


Fans were screaming, singing and cheering with the same passion I know and love from Tiger Stadium.


The French fans engaged with us and taunted us each time France scored. I laughed at the little boys in the seat behind us booing the American team, knowing the passion starts so young. 


I cheered for the U.S. to beat France, and despite the loss, I cherished the experience. I knew It wouldn't be the last time I saw a professional soccer game in person. 


I used to hate this sport, but my love for it started from being thrown into the unknown. 


I’m grateful for embracing a sport I once mocked because growth is one of the biggest rewards in this life. 


As of right now, I hate watching golf and know nothing about the sport. 


I’ll check back in a year. 


Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page