top of page

LSU Sprinter Among 18 Athletes Chosen to Represent Trinidad and Tobago at the Olympics

Aug 14

2 min read

0

64

0


Shakeem McKay/Instagram

BATON ROUGE, L.A. An LSU track and field sprinter was one of just 18 athletes selected to compete for Trinidad and Tobago at this summer’s Olympic Games. 


Shakeem McKay, a third-year student-athlete from Trinidad and Tobago, competed in the Men’s 4x400 Relay Friday, Aug. 9.


When asked about how competing for LSU has prepared him for the Olympics, McKay spoke about the intensity of competing in the Southeastern Conference (SEC), saying “LSU being a member of the Southeastern Conference has prepared me a lot for the Olympics as I face world class competitors on a regular basis.” The SEC is known for its intense, relentless athletes and competition, and for McKay, it primed him to be an Olympian. 


McKay was the ‘anchor leg’ for Trinidad and Tobago in the Men’s 4x400 Relay, a role assigned to a team’s fastest runner to complete the final segment of the race. 


Trinidad and Tobago finished eighth in semifinal heat one on Aug. 9. First leg runner Renny Quow lost a spike, forcing him to run barefoot and placing Trinidad and Tobago in eighth. Though Trinidad & Tobago continued to trail behind due to their early mishap, McKay completed the final 100 meters of the race with strength and resilience, finishing the race in 3 minutes, 6.73 seconds. 


“I welcome all the pressure that comes with being an Olympian as I am no stranger to high expectations and pressure. I just take it as a means as people on a good enough level that everyone expects you to perform well, and I use that to fuel me to go out to perform at my best.” McKay said about how he handles the expectations that come with being an Olympian. “I am grateful and very elated to represent my community, my supporters and my country on the Olympic stage.”


Becoming an Olympian not only marked a “lifelong dream” for McKay, but a historic moment for his entire community in Trinidad and Tobago. McKay is the first person from his community to ever make it to the Olympic Games.


“It means a lot as I am the first person from my community of John John, Laventille to make it to the Olympic Games, McKay said. “I hope to motivate and inspire everyone of all ages to strive for greatness.” 


McKay’s advice to young athletes is to “Keep working hard and smart. Everyone faces challenges, but believe in yourself and work through it to see the treasures that life has to offer. Also remember that it does not matter how far or how high you think you’ve gotten in life, nobody sits high enough to look down on anyone. Remember to stay humble, embrace every moment and live good with others despite negativity in your surroundings.” 

Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page