top of page

Merci to my parents: The ones who made this trip possible

Jul 26

2 min read

5

81

0


Tourists and locals stroll through the streets of Marseille (Photo Credit: Emily Boudreaux)


In 2000 my dad planted an oak tree for my mom in the neighborhood where they decided to start a family. He got his picture taken for the local newspaper, and the story began. 


You understand symbolism – they built roots physically and metaphorically in Lake Forest, California. 


My parents, along with the tree, stayed stable. 


As the branches of the tree grew, so did I and my desires. In this first home, I learned my passion for sports. I learned what it meant to feel ignited by just merely seeing an athlete’s performance on TV. To know the feeling of rooting for a team to win.


Through my steady home, I also learned from a young age all I wanted to do was leave. To test the sturdiness of the branches and expand them into new areas. I dreamed of using the branches of the tree to climb my way to the very top and see things from new heights. 


Back at the trunk of the tree, my mom and dad went to their day jobs and worked hard for me and my brother. They took away day-to-day worries, so I could focus on my dreams outside of their roots.


I knew I needed to travel. To see more than what was planted for me. I knew that’s what they wanted for me too. 


So wanting to challenge the comfort of my tree, I jumped at the chance to attend college out of state. Again, a thank you to my parents. Louisiana State also offered the sports culture I craved and grew up on. 


Now 24 years after that tree was planted and 20 years after the tree sprouted me, I’m going to France to watch the Olympics through LSU’s Manship School of Mass Communication. My greatest dreams wrapped into one.


All I want to do is hug my parents. They planted that sturdy tree, so I could take pieces of it with me and share it with new parts of the world. 


Without their constant encouraging words I wouldn’t have stuck it out my freshman year at LSU. Their roots hugged me from states away. 


It was shaky though. I didn’t really know how many times I could hear them say “Things will get better. Trust us.” 


But the tree’s branches taught me how to hold on and fight to climb higher. 


Now going into my junior year, I’m glad I listened to my parents because LSU is holding the little girl’s hand who sat in the tree and dreamed of traveling. LSU is helping the girl who aspires to work in sports.


But it all started from a couple planting and taking care of an oak tree together.

Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page