top of page

The Road to France: Lessons in Patience and Joy

Aug 13

2 min read

2

8

0

I've been gathering my thoughts each day in my notes app, from the moment my plane was supposed to take off on July 20th up until the very last day of the trip. What started as a total catastrophe transformed into an unforgettable series of joy, laughter, sights, sounds, and new experiences. This trip exceeded my expectations tenfold. In a little under two weeks, I feel as though I have learned so much about myself and the world around me (sounds dramatic but bear with me).


Right from the start, I learned a lifetime of lessons about patience and determination. Te'yanah and I became locked in as travel buddies as we spent more time in the Louis Armstrong International Airport than I would ever bargain for. Our flight out of MSY was canceled Friday morning, the day before we were set to fly out. Before July 19th, I had never even stepped foot in the new MSY. In the end, I'm pretty sure I put in over 20 hours total between sitting and waiting, standing in rebooking lines, and sleeping the frustration away in those really uncomfortable chairs at the gates.


By the time our second rebooking was canceled (after we sat in the airport waiting for the flight for like 8 hours), I was more than ready to give up. BUT I choked down the feeling of defeat and pushed forward. And I'm so glad that I did. I became more in tune and grateful for each experience, big or small because as I stood in line at MSY in a desperate attempt to rebook for a third time, Paris seemed more like a fever dream than an opportunity I had already been afforded.


Finally, joining the rest of the group on that faithful Wednesday, the sheer excitement that radiated from everyone slowly melted my stress away. I mean, it took a few days for me not to feel like a lifeless zombie, but the excitement was there deep down. 


I laughed, I cried, I screamed, but I made it. 


Reflecting on this journey, I realize how much I've grown through this adventure. Each challenge faced in getting to France made every moment more precious and meaningful. As I comb through my thoughts and pictures now, I am reminded of the beauty in perseverance and the unexpected gifts that come from staying determined. I am grateful for every moment.

Hayli Hunter


Related Posts

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page